Rules and Regulations for Arizona Opticians’ license renewal exam
According to R4-20-114, Notice of Change of Status, which statement is NOT correct?
Notice of change shall be done in either writing or by telephone to the Board within 30 days of change of status.
An optical establishment licensee and dispensing optician licensee shall notify the Board of any change in the information provided to the Board concerning license application or its renewal.
An optical establishment licensee and dispensing optician licensee shall notify the Board of any change of information provided to the Board including in change in name, address, work location, establishment ownership, or the name, address or home telephone number of each dispensing optician, working at the establishment.
An Arizona licensed dispensing optician, who fails to notify the Board, that he or she has a new address, is in violation of the Arizona Dispensing Opticians Act and Rules.
According to §32-1696, Unlawful acts; grounds for disciplinary action, classification, it is unlawful for an Arizona licensed optician to:
Give, pay or receive, or offer to give, pay or receive, directly or indirectly, any gift, premium, discount, rebate or remuneration to or from any physician or optometrist in return for referral of patients or customers.
Provide any examination or treatment of the eye or advertise eye examinations without the disclaimer “by independent doctor of optometry”, “by independent doctor of ophthalmology” or “by independent physician licensed pursuant to title 32, chapter 13 or 17, Arizona Revised Statutes”.
Use any means to measure the refractive value of the human eye, except nonrefractive, nondiagnostic devices, such as a keratometer, ophthalmometer, or other instrumentation that is required to fit a contact lens to an intended wearer.
All of the above.
According to the Arizona Dispensing Opticians Act and Rules, it is permissible for a Licensed Optician to be the designated licensee for more than one licensed establishment at the same time.
Review §32-1691.01, Investigation and Adjudication of Complaints. If a possible violation is referred by the Board to an investigator or investigative committee, said investigator or committee has 90 days to make a written recommendation to the Board on whether disciplinary action is appropriate. Copies of the investigative report will be provided to both the complainant and the licensee. Within 60 days after receipt of the written report the Board shall issue preliminary findings based on the written report.
According to §32-1693, Denial, Suspension and Revocation of License; Other Disciplinary Sanctions, the Board may take any combination of the following disciplinary actions against a license pursuant to §32-1691.01 EXCEPT:
Suspension or revocation, for up to one year of the license.
A decree of censure and or restitution.
Place a licensee on probation.
Impose a civil penalty of not more than two thousand dollars ($2,000) for each violation of this chapter or Board rules.
According to the definition provided in §32-1671 of a "Dispensing Optician" it is lawful for an Optician to:
Dispense lenses, contact lenses, frames, artificial eyes, appurtenances to the intended wearer from a duly written prescription from a licensed physician or optometrist. In accordance with the written prescription an optician interprets, measures, adapts, fits or adjusts the same for the aid of correction or ocular anomalies.
An Optician may duplicate, replace, reproduce or repeat the same without a written prescription when there is no change in refractive value.
Contact lenses shall never be dispensed without a written contact lens prescription being on file in any optical establishment, office of an optometrist, or office of a physician or verbal confirmation of that written prescription. The optician shall advise the intended wearer at the time the contact lenses are delivered to return to the prescribing physician or optometrist for evaluation and follow-up care.
All of the above
Which statement is correct regarding R4-20-120, Continuing Education; Hours; Required; Reporting:
Each licensee shall submit documentation to the Board verifying that the licensee has completed 12 hours or more of continuing education, within any three-year period.
Each licensee shall submit documentation to the Board verifying that the licensee has completed 12 hours or more of continuing education, within each three-year period.
Of the twelve hours of continuing education, each licensee shall obtain at least four (4) hours of eyeglass fitting and dispensing, three (3) hours of contact lens fitting and dispensing, and one (1) hour in state or national opticianry standards.
Both A and C
Both B and C
With regard to §32-1672, Board of dispensing opticians; members, qualifications; terms removal; immunity, all of the following are true EXCEPT:
The Board consists of seven members appointed by the Governor.
Five members of the Board shall be licensees in good standing and two members of the Board shall be public members.
Each member shall serve a term of three years expiring on the first day in January of the appropriate year. A member shall not serve for more than two complete consecutive terms.
The Governor may remove a board member from office if the Governor determines that the member is guilty of malfeasance or dishonorable conduct.
According to R4-20-110, each optical establishment is required to have at least one licensed optician working full-time at the establishment. According to the Rules, how many hours per week constitutes full-time?
None of the above
Review R4-20-119, Substandard Care. It is substandard care for a dispensing optician:
To dispense improperly manufactured eyeglasses or contact lenses.
When interpreting written prescriptions, to fail to follow standards incorporated by reference in subsection (B) in determining lens powers due to differences in vertex distances, base curvatures, special lens requirements, and facial fitting problems, or to fail to comply with special instructions of the vision practitioner or optometrist shown on the prescription without the full knowledge and consent of the customer, the physician, or optometrist.
To fill prescriptions beyond the expiration date indicated on the prescription.
All of the above
According to §R4-20-109, Renewal of Dispensing Optician’s License; Late Renewal; Reinstatement, an Optician applying for reinstatement must provide verification of his/her ABO & NCLE certificates?
Refer to R4-20-118, Unprofessional Conduct. Unprofessional conduct in the practice of optical dispensing includes:
Failing or refusing to make a copy of a prescription or record described in subsection (2) promptly available to the customer who is the subject of the prescription or record, the customer’s designated representative, the customer’s prescribing practitioner, or the Board or its investigator, when requested. Notwithstanding this provision, a dispensing optician need not make the record of contact lenses dispensed on a trial basis available to the customer;
Failing to maintain a copy of the customer’s prescription or failing to prepare and maintain a record of optical devices dispensed for at least three years. The record shall include the brand, style, and size of the frame, if any, and the style, material and all other information necessary to accurately reproduce each lens. The records shall be separate from optometrists’ or physicians’ records;
Failing or refusing to take corrective action or investigate a customer complaint concerning the manufacture or fit of eyeglasses, contact lenses, or other optical devices dispensed at the establishment by which the dispensing optician is employed if there is a substantial basis for the complaint; Failure of any person, corporation, company, partnership, firm, association or society to maintain an active optical establishment license as required by R4-20-110; and failure to comply with a Board order.
All of the above
Both A and B only
Review §32-1684, License issuance, renewal and reinstatement, and Rule R4-20-109 Renewal of Dispensing Optician’s License; Late Renewal; Reinstatement. According to this statute and rule, a licensed optician who is applying for reinstatement, would NOT have to take the practical examination if he or she has successfully completed the practical examination in the five-year period immediately preceding the license expiration.
With regard to R4-20-117, Scope of Practice, an optician shall fill a refill of a contact lens prescription prior to its expiration date with how many contact lenses?
As many contact lenses as the client wishes to purchase.
With not more than a six month supply.
With no more than the sufficient quantity of replacement contact lenses needed through the expiration date.
None of these.
According to R4-20-113, Display of License; Nontransferability, which statement is NOT correct?
A licensee shall display all licenses in a conspicuous place. If the license is renewed, the license shall display the evidence of renewal in public view.
Optical establishment and dispensing optician licenses are not transferable.
An establishment license issued for a location may be displayed at multiple locations.
A licensee shall return an optical establishment license to the Board upon transfer of ownership or going out of business.
According to §32-1696, Unlawful Acts; Grounds for Disciplinary Action; Classification, a person or licensee who violates subsection A, paragraph 1, 4, 5 or 8 is guilty of
A class 1 misdemeanor
A class 2 misdemeanor
None of these
Once you are finished, click the button below. Any items you have not completed will be marked incorrect.
There are 16 questions to complete.